School submitted news.

School News

Ross School

Ross School has established the Courtney Sale Ross Honors Scholarship for high-performing day and boarding students entering grades 7 through 12.

This scholarship will make available up to $1 million in merit-based tuition assistance to students whose academic performance, service within the community, and demonstrated passion and creativity align with Ross School’s values. In addition to the scholarship, Ross School continues to award more than $3 million in financial aid and scholarships annually.

“We are excited to announce this scholarship, which bears the name of Ross School’s founder, Courtney Sale Ross, and reflects her vision of Ross as a diverse and inclusive learning community,” said Jason Warnick, director of admissions and financial aid. “Ross is committed to opening doors to promising students from all backgrounds, and we hope that this opportunity will allow families to consider a future at Ross School, regardless of their financial circumstances.”

The deadline to submit an application is June 15. Interested applicants can visit for more information or contact the Ross School Admissions Office at 631-907-5400 or

East Hampton

Independent/Courtesy James Stewart
East Hampton High School’s National Art Honor Society and Tri-M Music Honor Society.

The National Art Honor Society and Tri-M Music Honor Society held their annual induction ceremony April 11 in the East Hampton High School cafeteria.

New National Art Honor Society inductees included Tycho Burwell, Kyle Dias, Will Edwards, Julissa Fajardo, Lauren German, Gianna Gregorio, Noah Gualtieri, Rianna Helier, Lynda Hernandez, Claire Hopkins, Emily Hugo, Yannah Jones, Rebecca Kuperschmid, Sophia Ledda, Rose Littman, Sutton Lynch, Camila Mattiauda, Lizette Maurath, Hannah Mirando, Evelyn Ordonez, Rachel Osborne, Jhonelle Richards, Isabella Swanson, Jennifer Villacis, Emma Wiltshire, Scout Austopchuk, Zachary Barzilay, Cassady Czarnecki, Alexis Dempsey, August Gladstone, Olivia Jarrett, Gabriel Junemann, Raymond Ledda, Zachary Minskoff, Liana Paradiso, and Krystal Santiago.

New Tri-M Music Honor Society inductees included Talia Albukrek, Melanie Barros, Claire Belhumeur, Naomi Blowe, Olivia Brauer, Maria Chavez, Kate Estuye, Anthony Genovesi, Malia Guebli, Jillian Hear, Alexandra Lenehan, Kiana Magat, Mary McDonald, Emily Nicholson, and Tori Schmitt.

Numerous examples of the students’ artwork were on display for the event. Music was also provided by the high school’s chamber ensemble.

Tuckahoe Common School District

Independent/Courtesy Tuckahoe Common School District
Southampton Town Police Officer Eric Breitwieser reads to third graders at the Tuckahoe School.

March was Literacy Month at Tuckahoe School. It is a month-long celebration of all the literacy, reading, writing, speaking, and listening the school offers students. It is also one of the many ways the school can help foster a love of reading and literature within the student community.

One exciting event hosted during Literacy Month was Community Guest Reader’s Day, on March 29. Community leaders were invited to come in to share one of their favorite pieces of literature with a select group of students.

In other news, third-graders at Tuckahoe School collected sheets, towels, food, and many more items, for donation to the Southampton Animal Shelter on April 14.

Westhampton Beach School District

Independent/Courtesy Westhampton Beach School District
Westhampton Beach High School’s Virtual Enterprise team, Team SPFy, placed 10th in the country on April 17.

Westhampton Beach High School’s Virtual Enterprise team, Team SPFy, placed 10th in the country after competing against 600 teams from across America at the Virtual Enterprises International National Business Plan Competition on April 17.

Westhampton Beach’s team, made up of Ansley Berman, Bjorn Christensen, Chloe Koonmen, Drew Malabre, Maeve Murphy, and Grace O’Hare, secured their placement at the national level after scoring highly at the Long Island Business Plan Competition Finals in February.

Team SPFy’s winning virtual business plan focuses on the development and promotion of organic skincare items. The mission of the company is to educate young people about skin cancer and the harmful effects of melanoma.